The Advent Project

Working on the 30 day giving project has been an inspiration to me.  I’ve been intentional about giving.  It’s forced us as a family to really think about faith, life and what we give to the world every day.  In fact I’ve been pretty bummed about the project ending.  It wasn’t just my tiny family that got involved.  This project had impact in so many more places.  Friends, family and people I’ve met at different churches have asked what the project is and how they can get involved.  It’s been a fantastic adventure for us and we’ve watched as so many people have opened their hearts to giving.

With the impact it’s had on us I couldn’t let it end so I designed an Advent Project for our family.  A 24 day family activity project.  It involves prayer, scripture, giving and dedicated family time.  Perfect for those of us who get so busy that we can’t see our way through the blizzard that is the holidays.   Every day has a new activity for the family to enjoy as we wait for the celebration of the birth of Christ.  At first I thought we would try it out this year and then I would offer it to our church next year for a family project.  I then received our church newsletter and found out they were looking for family activity ideas so I hesitantly offered it to our minister to see if he wanted to use it.  Turns out they are as excited about the project as I am.

Once I’ve finished tweaking the final calendar tomorrow I’ve decided I’ll post it here on my site.  It should be up by Monday at the latest.  It doesn’t start until December 1st, but I like to get a head start on these things!

You’re more than welcome to follow along with our journey if you’d like a family project during the holidays.    If you decide to participate and want to blog about your family’s experience please let me know and I’ll put a link to your blog on our site.  This will let those of us who are participating connect and see what everyone’s up too.  As a family we are striving to keep Christmas in a simple meaningful way.  I’m looking forward to new traditions and a slightly slower holiday season this year.

Leave a reply

