Sunday Afternoon Pulled Pork

This is hands down the easiest and tastiest pulled pork recipe I’ve ever made.   I got the original recipe from my friend Angela who got it from a farmer and I’ve found tons of variations of it on the internet.  If you need an easy recipe for a football gathering that you want to throw on before church, this is it.

What you’ll need:

  • 1-2 pork tenderloins
  • 2-4 onions
  • 1 2L bottle of Root Beer
  • Your favorite BBQ sauce
  • a crock pot

What you’ll do:

Throw the pork into the crockpot.  Cover with chopped onions.  Pour the Root Beer over the mixture (enough to cover).   Turn the crockpot on low.  After it’s been on for about 6-7 hours begin checking to see if the pork is finished.  Once the pork is finished drain the mixture well.  Put the onion/pork mixture back in the Crock Pot.  Take two forks and pull the pork pieces apart.  Cover the mixture with your favorite BBQ sauce.  Leave on low for another hour or so.

Potential Substitutions and Additions:

I’ve made this with Cola and it’s been delicious.  It’s a bit more smoky when made this way but equally tasty.

You can make this with any cut of pork roast.  When I’ve had large groups I’ve used pork shoulder and it’s been great.  I like the tenderloin because it’s healthy and lean but you can use what ever cut you like.

I’ve served this topped with a little shredded cheese and it was a hit.

Serve it on whatever type of bread you like.  We’ve done buns/garlic toast/thick slices of italian bread and it’s all worked. I’ve also served it alone with a side of cheesy mashed potatoes.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a reply

